Food Chronicles: I Love to Eat

I thought it fitting for my first post on The Curvysta Haven to be about food. It’s not a secret that I love to cook, bake and eat. Have to admit I’m pretty picky though (perhaps that is why I learned to cook at such a young age); I have some very specific things that I attempt to avoid while eating (normally anything green and leafy). But as I’ve grown older I have to admit I’ve learned to overcome a lot of my dislikes (at least to a distasteful level instead of an out right hate). Toss in lettuce as an example; my whole family knows I hate lettuce, but this year I have discovered it isn’t QUITE as bad as I remember. Basically I can now tolerate it (and feel the need to tell my dad each and every time I do eat it now.)

Anyways, I’m a big meat eater too and love to cook tons of different carnivorous meals. That’s why I wanted to share a recipe that I found in Cosmo’s November issue for Molasses-Glazed Grilled Pork Loin. I haven’t tried it yet, but it sounds AMAZING.

Try it out and tell me what you think. What would you pair with this for your meal?

Photo by Jim Hitchcock.

Cosmo November| Food 101| Molasses-Glazed Grilled Pork Loin

Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:

Two 1-pound pork tenderloins

1/4 cup strong balck coffee, cold or room temperature

1/4 cup bourbon

3 tablespoons molasses

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme

Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Rinse the pork, pat dry, and trim any excess fat. Place in a shallow bowl or large resealable bag.

Whisk together the coffee, bourbon, molasses, vinegar, oil, and thyme in a small bowl. Pour the marinade over the pork, and turn to coat evenly. Or if using a plastic bag, pour the marinade into the bag, seal, and shake to coat.)

Cover, and place in the refrigerator to marinate for at least 2 hours or overnight. Turn the pork several times to distribute the marinade evenly.

When you are ready to cook the pork, prepare a hot fire in a charcoal or gas grill, and let the coals burn to gray ash with a slight red glow. Keep the coals on one side of the grill to create areas of direct and indirect heat; if using a gass grill, heat just one side on medium. Or put a grill pan on the stove, and heat it on medium.

Remove the pork from the marinade, reseving the marinade, and season with salt and pepper.

Place grates on the hot grill, and cook for about 12 minutes, basting with the reserved marinade and turning three or four times to avoid charring.

Move the pork away from the heat, close the grill or cover with foil, and cook for another 3 to 5 minutes, until and internal thermometer inserted in the tenderloin registers 145 degrees for medium or 160 degrees for medium-well.

Transfer pork to a cutting board. Cover loosely with foil, and allow to rest for 5 to 10 minutes before slicing. Slice the pork into small rounds, 1/4 to 1/2 – inch thick, and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

