Fashion News: Tim Gunn on Plus Size Fashion

I just recently read an article from Marie Claire talking about the new daytime talk show “The Revolution.” I knew Tim Gunn was going to be one of the hosts but to be honest I never really put much more thought into the show – I first heard about it because of the uber cute Ty Pennington will be a host. But after an interesting article popped up in my Facebook feed I had to take a closer look.

Yes the main part of the article focused originally on the new show and Tim Gunn’s participation in it. I think the show could be really interesting (though it won’t be the first “Extreme Makeover” weight loss show out there; everyone tries to capitalize on the fact that being fat is super unhealthy apparently and everyone needs to get stick thin,) but what I was more interested in was the second half of the article. Tim Gunn speaks out on dressing plus size women, the struggle with designers to create REAL clothes for plus size women and how he is considering designing a plus size line!

We all fell in love with Tim Gunn on the ever-so-popular “Project Runway,” and all have learned many fashion tips and ‘words of wisdom’ from him. Now I got to read an inside look on his personal thoughts on dressing plus size women and how he shares the same frustrations as us. He really wants to help!

From his interview with Marie Claire:

What does all this mean for plus-size women out there who need something to wear now?
It’s so difficult. Have you seen most of the plus-size sections out there? It’s horrifying. Whoever’s designing for plus-size doesn’t get it. The entire garment needs to be reconceived. You can’t just take a size 8 and make it larger.

How do you think the fashion industry responds to the need for better plus-size options?
In my travels, I’ve been an advocate for larger women. I’ve been talking to designers, but only a half-dozen make an effort. Most say, “I don’t want a woman who’s a size 10 or 11 wearing my clothes.” Well, shame on you! It’s not realistic. We need to address real women with real needs. At Parsons, we had fit models that ranged in size from 2 to 10. We’ve got to reconceive clothes for all sizes. Sometimes I say, “I’m going to do a clothing line!” I’d love nothing more to respond to those designers who refuse to address it.

Courtesy Getty Images.

You’re going to start designing?!
I’m seriously considering it! Just because I want to be a part of the solution. I’m so tired of giving them so few options. I end up always saying, “I’m taking you to Lane Bryant because at least they understand you.” But there’s a stigma.

So, until we can all wear Tim by Tim Gunn, what trademark tips can you leave us with?
The three most important things to consider are silhouette, proportion, and fit. When those are in harmony and balance, you’ll look good in anything. Also, embrace your shape! Everyone has a best feature, so find clothes and accessories to accentuate those, whether it’s your shoulders or your long legs! Above all, don’t be a slave to fleeting trends — invest in essentials.

Read more: Tim Gunn on The Revolution Weight Loss Show – Tim Gunn Plus Size Fashion Tips and Advice – Marie Claire

 

 

Don’t forget to enter the “New Year/New Blog” Giveaway! You have the WHOLE month of January to tell me what YOU want to read right here on “The Curvysta Haven” and possibly win a small token of my appreciation!

Leave a Reply

