Food Chronicles: An Exotic Easter Side Dish

The countdown to the Easter holiday is now down to 2 days (not counting today). I love holidays like this where food is center stage. My favorite side dish has always been the mashed potatoes – I can’t remember a holiday where they WEREN’T my favorite (or the dish I ate the most of).

A favorite version of the classic mashed potatoes and gravy – is the ultimate cheddar mashed potatoes. I remember one Easter mixing a huge bag of cheddar cheese into my family’s mashed potatoes (I had permission to!) – best thing ever.

But I didn’t want to just post a recipe about cheddar mashed potatoes – I wanted to try something different this holiday. And this year I’ve discovered I love fresh mushrooms, and then I found this lovely recipe:

Portobello Mashed Potatoes

From www.epicurean.com 

 

Ingredients:
  • 3 pounds russet potatoes, peeled and cut into small chunks
  • 1/4 ounce (about 8 grams) dried portobello mushrooms, finely chopped
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 can (about 10 ounces) condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • Salt and ground black pepper to taste
Directions:
Combine the potatoes and mushrooms with the water in a large, covered saucepan, and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Boil until the potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes; drain. Mash the potatoes right in the pot, using a potato masher or fork, adding the soup and mixing until the mixture is fluffy and creamy. Season with salt and pepper.
Makes 6 servings.
Leave a Reply

