Food Chronicles: Cosmo Comfort Food

The weather decided to take another unexpected turn towards the cold this week, much to my dismay. But when cold weather arises it always makes me turn towards comfort foods!

A favorite of mine is chicken and bisquits – and I’ve had it prepared many ways and cooked it many different ways myself. When I found this simple version from Cosmo.com I had to share!


Quick ‘n’ Easy Chicken and Dumplings

Recipe from Katie Lee.

Photo courtesy of Cosmopolitan.

I grew up eating chicken and dumplings in my grandma’s kitchen. Making them from scratch can be time consuming, but with a couple adjustments, I managed to turn my favorite comfort food into a one-pot wonder that’s done in a snap…and I think it’s just as good as Grandma’s is (but don’t tell her I said that).

2 c. biscuit mix (such as Bisquick)
2/3 c. reduced-fat milk
6 c. low-sodium chicken stock
2 sprigs fresh thyme
1 bay leaf
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. freshly ground black pepper
2 T all-purpose flour
1/4 c. water
2 c. cooked chicken, shredded (I use a store-bought rotisserie chicken)
2 c. frozen mixed vegetables (such as peas, carrots, and corn)
2 T fresh flat-leaf parsley, minced

In a small bowl, stir biscuit mix and milk until just combined. Set aside. In a medium pot, combine stock, thyme, bay leaf, salt, and pepper, and bring to a boil. In a small dish, whisk flour with water, and stir into chicken stock. Add chicken and mixed vegetables. Using a tablespoon or an ice-cream scoop, drop dumpling batter into boiling stock. Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook uncovered for 10 minutes. Cover and cook an additional 10 minutes. Garnish each serving with fresh parsley.

Read more: Comfort Food Recipes – Fennel Salad Recipe – Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

