Lady Gaga on Adele Being Plus Size

By now you all probably get the idea that I’m not the biggest Lady Gaga fan, and you are totally right. When she first came out years ago I was a supporter, loved her music and what she stood for – but then her message (and her) got TWISTED. Now I have not a clue what she looks like, stands for or does… besides “monsters?” The word “monster” was never a positive word when growing up, so I’m not sure why she (or her fans) would want to be called “monsters.” But you are probably wondering what this has anything to do with plus size and Adele…

If you remember the controversy last year about how Lady Gaga said some nasty comments towards Adele being fat because she won more Grammy’s than her, I still can’t tell you if it was true or a false internet campaign (though her “monsters” ran with what Gaga supposedly said), it really seemed to pair the two singers together. Now the quotes are flying about Lady Gaga reminding the media that Adele is plus size; perhaps she isn’t as “comfortable” as she said about being called fat by the media.

Jezebel.com has Gaga quoted, saying:

“I thought, well I don’t really care if they think I’m fat, because, quite honestly, I did gain about 30 pounds. Adele is bigger than me, how come nobody says anything about it? She’s so wonderful and I think her confidence is something I have to match. She has set the bar very high for a lot of women. I need to be a confident woman and just say politically active things when I can that are helpful to young people.”

I’m not trying to blow this out of proportion (even though I’ve already stated to NOT being a Lady Gaga fan), but why should Lady Gaga CARE that nobody has said anything about Adele being bigger than her?

And honestly, people HAVE said things about Adele being bigger — they’ve said how beautiful, confident and magnificent she is! And I can probably answer Lady Gaga’s question… nobody has said anything negative about Adele being plus size because Adele OWNS it! Adele has said that what her shape is doesn’t bother her and that she loves her body, so no one has any room to say negative comments.

On a side note, as a “young person” I wouldn’t listen to anything “political” Lady Gaga has to say…

One response to “Lady Gaga on Adele Being Plus Size

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your post. Once upon a time I was too a Gaga fan but now she seems to be all about shock tactics and waffling rubbish, it seems like the only reason she’s coming out with stuff like this is because of her own insecurities and jealousy. For someone who tells her “Little Monsters” how they should love and accept themselves for who they are she’s sure doing a good job of sounding like a complete hypocrite. (Might I add that my Tazzy Monster nickname was around long before she was.)

Leave a Reply

