Food Chronicles: Thai Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

For Christmas I asked Santa to get a wok. I know, a wok is kind of a strange gift to ask for normally but I’ve been wanting one for a long time. I just could never justify buying one yet because I never believed I had enough time to seriously use it. But I took the plunge and asked Santa and you know what, Santa got it for me! I was super excited.

The first meal I made in it was Thai peanut chicken stir fry. I’m trying to eat healthier (and cook more of my own food) so I knew a stir fry with tons of vegetables would be the perfect meal. I love chicken and who doesn’t love rice? I found this great Thai peanut sauce at my local grocer’s too that I wanted to really give a whirl.

Thai Peanut Chicken Stir Fry

© The Curvysta Haven 2013.

© The Curvysta Haven 2013.

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger or 1/2 teaspoon ground
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 2 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 cups sliced carrots
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced into thin strips
  • 1/4 cup Thai peanut sauce© The Curvysta Haven 2013

Heat oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and ginger and cook 1 minute. Add chicken and cook 3 to 4 minutes, until starting to brown, stirring constantly (I found that I had to do this step a few minutes longer so the chicken was cooked more). Add mushrooms, carrots, and peppers and cook 3 minutes. Add peanut sauce and cook 2 minutes, until vegetables are crisp-tender.

Feel free to add any other vegetables you like! This is a very make-it-your-own type meal!

Recipe from Food Network.

Leave a Reply

