Food Chronicles: Healthy Heart

February is all about your heart: Valentine’s Day, love, romance, food … so of course I wanted to share some HEART healthy foods. Food is all about taste but healthy foods can taste great as well, and it is all about portions (something I’m slowly learning about myself).

It will amaze you just what foods can be ‘heart healthy,’ honestly I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a health nut, but after discovering just what is considered heart healthy I could probably live on them. I came up with this idea because I’ve been trying to become healthier in all my habits and thought of ‘heart healthy’ foods for February as a topic.

If you are interested in more than just what I’ve got for you here (and it is just the tip of the iceberg) I suggest googling or searching on Pinterest. Seriously, I searched on Pinterest and there are a LOT of great pins about heart healthy foods, recipes and what it means.

b13bde839cc9540260148235673ea247

 

I like five out of 7 of these, and one I like to cook with (onions) but I’m not a fan of eating huge portions of them. You could make a meal out of a few of these, I’m thinking Salmon with a strawberry salsa, or salmon on top of a bed of spinach (even though I don’t like it, haha) or mixxing blueberries into oatmeal. Possibilities are endless!

Lastly, I wanted to share a heart healthy recipe that I found on Mom On Timeout. I think this is a great recipe because it takes something classic that we all love, chicken fingers, and makes them HEALTHY. These chicken strips are almond-crusted and BAKED. Delicious.

Photo courtesy Mom On Timeout.

Photo courtesy Mom On Timeout.


Ingredients

  • Canola oil cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1 pound chicken tenders

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 475°F.
  2. Line a baking sheet with foil. Set a wire rack on the baking sheet and coat it with cooking spray.
  3. Place almonds, flour, paprika, garlic powder, dry mustard, salt and pepper in a food processor and process until the almonds are finely chopped and the paprika is mixed throughout.
  4. With the motor running, slowly drizzle in olive oil; process until combined.
  5. Transfer the mixture to a shallow dish.
  6. Whisk egg whites in a second shallow dish.
  7. Coat chicken tenders and transfer each tender to the almond mixture; turn to coat evenly.
  8. Place the tenders on the prepared rack and coat with cooking spray; turn and spray the other side.
  9. Bake the chicken fingers until golden brown, crispy and no longer pink in the center, 20 to 25 minutes.
Leave a Reply

