Food Chronicles: Blueberry Banana Bread

I’ve been very intrigued by banana bread recently. My mother made the best banana spice bread/muffins when I was growing up and she taught me a great trick: when your bananas start getting too ripe, toss them in the freezer to use later in banana bread! They turn black and look really gross but once they thaw all you have to is snip the top off and squeeze the now mashed bananas into your mixing bowl. It’s so simple and helpful.

When I became interested in baking banana bread a couple weeks ago I searched for a simple recipe online (simple is always best) and I found this one on All Recipes. My coworkers loved the bread and I was honestly blown away, it tasted so fresh and moist!

bluebanana1

This is when I got hooked and began to think of different variations I could create using this recipe: banana cranberry, banana spice, banana cinnamon, banana chocolate chip…. the list goes on. Then, Saturday it hit me: BLUEBERRY banana bread.

After I mixed up the basic recipe I just added about 3 handfuls of frozen blueberries to the batter and then baked according to the recipe. I will tell you that you might want to add another 5 minutes or so onto the time since the liquids from the blueberries will make it extra wet.

bluebanana2

Now THIS was  a hit with me and my coworkers: they told me how moist it was and one even said this was the best baked good I’ve made thus far!

Here is the base recipe:

Banana Banana Bread

Ingredients 

Original recipe makes 1 loaf
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar

  • 2 eggs, beaten

  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas (I just use 3 bananas, less measuring)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.
One response to “Food Chronicles: Blueberry Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Food Chronicles: Blue Foods |·

Leave a Reply

