Food Chronicles: Mushroom Risotto

I’ve had this idea that I want to throw a dinner party for some of my friends. Everyone knows I can bake, and most have seen from pictures online that I can COOK. And I have such great friends that I want to be able to hang out and chill outside of work. Dinner party was the clear choice. While I have my guest list all prepared, the meal isn’t… I found out that one of my potential guests is vegetarian!

If you know me, you know I crave meat, haha. But I’m not against other life choices! And since it’s Spring (somewhere) eating fresh and healthier is a great way to go. I know I’m trying to learn healthier choices myself, so this is a great challenge for me.

One of the ideas on my list is a mushroom risotto that I got from a cookbook I own, The Meat Lover’s Meatless Cookbook from Kim O’Donnel. I actually bought this years ago when I was dating a pescetarian…. clearly, that didn’t work out, but the cookbook has come a long way with me. When I was searching online I found another great recipe on Gimme Some Oven blog and I wanted to share that one!

Photo courtesy Gimme Some Oven.

Photo courtesy Gimme Some Oven.

Yield: 4 Servings

A delicious recipe for classic risotto from Jenna Weber of “Eat, Live, Run”.

Ingredients

  • 4 to 4.5 cups homemade chicken stock (or use vegetable stock if going vegetarian)
  • 1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 16 oz. sliced cremini or baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Method

Heat the chicken stock in a small saucepan and keep warm over low heat. Heat the olive oil in a heavy-bottom pot over medium heat until hot but not smoking. Add the shallot and saute for about 4 minutes, or until tender and translucent. Add the rice and stir well to coat. Cook for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the white wine and cook until all is absorbed, stirring constantly.

Continue to cook the rice, adding the chicken stock, 1/4 cup at a time (a ladle does this job nicely), stirring continuously over medium heat until the stock has been completely absorbed by the rice. Do not add more stock until the previous amount has been completely absorbed by the rice. Once all the stock has been incorporated, continue to cook until the rice is just cooked through.

In a separate pan, melt the butter and saute the mushrooms until tender, about 8 minutes. Add the cooked mushrooms and cheese to the risotto, stirring until combined, and serve.

Leave a Reply

