Food Chronicles: Mini Loaves

Have to tell you that I’m really loving Pinterest lately because of all the different recipes people post. It’s a great virtual recipe box, honestly! You can find anything. And my most recent creation is inspired by an idea I found on there.

1lb ground turkey, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup oatmeal, salt & pepper.

1lb ground turkey, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup oatmeal, salt & pepper.

Meatloaf is a classic, simple meal to put on the table, and my favorite thing is to make it healthier by using ground turkey instead of ground beef. I always heard of “turkey loaf” when I was younger and how disgusting it was, so I’m not totally sure what “turkey loaf” is since my turkey meatloaf tastes amazing. But if you are trying to watch your portion sizes make your meat-loaves in muffin tins.

Turkeyloaf In Tins

After an almost 13 hour day training to become a server I came home and whipped up some of my meatloaf in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer and used a cookie scoop to fill the muffin tins. About 20 minutes later in a 350 degree oven, perfect mini meat-loaves.

I used a bbq sauce, but you could put gravy or ketchup too.

I used a bbq sauce, but you could put gravy or ketchup too.

They tasted great! They were so moist yet crunchy and adding a sauce on top before they baked makes the added flavor combination really pop. It was a lot easier to keep my portion in check and have a lot leftover for later in the week.

Turkeyloaf Cooked

Leave a Reply

