Food Chronicles: Cranberry Skillet Cake

Hopefully you all caught this earlier in the week on my Instagram feed, if not go follow me now (@the_curvysta_haven). I had a craving for cake and even bigger need to keep cooking Monday night, my day off. Since I recently purchased my wonderful cast iron skillet I had to look up new recipes to use in my skillet.

CranSkilletCake1

After doing a Google search I came across this “simple skillet cake” recipe and discovered I had everything for it. I added dried cranberries to add some color and a pop, but you could add anything. Make it your own!

cranskilletcake2

I was so excited because I got to use my KitchenAid stand mixer and my cast iron skillet in one swoop. And, it turned out great! I’m savoring a bit of it every day and will certainly be making it again.

Tip: Make sure you oil your skillet enough on the bottom so it will come out better than mine. 

Rating: 5

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 35 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Instructions

  1. Combine ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.
  2. Grease a large (12 inch), well-seasoned cast iron skillet by pouring a little vegetable oil in the skillet and coat it using a paper towel.
  3. Add batter to skillet.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 to 35 minutes or until golden brown and set. Allow to cool in the pan for 15 to 20 minutes before turning the cake out.
Leave a Reply

