Food Chronicles: Garden Fresh Bruschetta

A bunch of us girls, and I use ‘girls’ semi-lightly because my best gay friend is the host, decided to hold a Girls Night this month, and I honestly cannot wait! They did it last year before I started working there, and I keep hearing all these amazing stories. It’s going to be incredibly insane and fun.

This year we decided we wanted the food to be more classy and are focusing on tapas style snacks. Me being a huge foodie started tossing out tons of ideas from the start. One of the two that I settled on was bruschetta; it’s classy, simple, vegetarian (one of us is vegetarian) and just yummy.

I found this perfectly simple recipe for a tomato bruschetta off Pinterest. It’s going to be delicious, I can’t wait to make it for all the girls!

If you were curious, the other tapas I settled on are pizza ‘cupcakes,’ another Pinterest find. Apparently I find everything on there now. I discussed this with one of the other girls at work and we immediately decided it was a great idea.

Garden Fresh Bruschetta by Holly, on Spend With Pennies 

Picture courtesy Spend With Pennies.

Picture courtesy Spend With Pennies.

20-24oz fresh tomatoes (4-5 roma tomatoes or 3-4 regular tomatoes) diced small
1 clove garlic minced
1/4 cup fresh basil chopped fine (I cheat and put extra :) )
2 Tbs Olive oil
1 Tbs red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp each salt & pepper

 

Mix all ingredients and let stand at room temperature for 2 hours.  Serve on toasted sliced of baguette or french bread!!

One response to “Food Chronicles: Garden Fresh Bruschetta

Leave a Reply

