Food Chronicles: Raspberry Rice Muffins

At work we finally hired another host and let me say, she’s awesome! She also has Celiac’s Disease, which means her body can’t process gluten; I thought it was ironic since our one kitchen manager is gluten free as well. While we were talking she told me about how she bakes all the time, how ironic! I asked her what she uses in place of all-purpose flour and she told me how King Arthur brand flour has a gluten free product.

rapsberryricemuffins2She inspired me to go out and look for this flour to experiment since now I’ll have two gluten free people at work. I couldn’t find it; instead I found Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground White Rice Flour and on the side of the package it shares Sue’s White Rice Muffins. I did some tweeking and came up with my own version.

These muffins are not only gluten free, but also made with coconut oil and agave nectar making them super healthy!! The original recipe doesn’t use these substitutions so I looked around to see how to sub in the coconut oil and agave and after some experimenting, at least with this recipe, I used the same ratio.

Raspberry Rice Muffins

raspberryricemuffins1Yield: 6 Regular Muffins (even if the package says large, I think it’s more of the regular size)

1 Egg

1/2 Cup Liquid (water, fruit juice, milk — I used water)

2 Tbsp. Agave Nectar

2 Tbsp. Coconut Oil (you have to warm the oil into a liquid form)

1 Cup Bob’s Red Mill White Rice Flour

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 Cup Raspberries (or your favorite berry)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees (package says 425, but with the substitutions lower it 25 degrees to keep from burning). Lightly grease muffin tin, set aside. In a mixing bowl, place all ingredients; mix well. Pour into prepared muffin tin. Bake for 17 – 20 minutes. Allow muffins to cool for 5 minutes before removing from tin.

Leave a Reply

