Review: OPI’s Fifty Shades of Grey Mini Collection

Traveling allows you to go out and find adventures you normally wouldn’t encounter in life, and from a young age I have always loved to go out searching! One of my ‘resolutions’ if you want to call it, for 2015 is to travel more, somehow. Somehow I will figure out ways to save up, plan out and travel to places I’ve never been.

My first adventure is to Seattle in February! Why you might ask? Well, there is Pike Place Market, the Space Needle and the Original Starbucks! But also it is a city either mentioned or used in two of my favorite stories ever: Twilight & Fifty Shades of Grey. Yes, you might think I am just another Twi-hard (and I’ve openly admitted to being Grey Obsessed) but it doesn’t matter. Some people believe these stories to be written terribly and only about sex – but not everyone can read a Jane  Austen novel (trust me, it took me 2 years to get through Pride & Prejudice, and it is my favorite book ever written) so writing to the common masses is acceptable. I mean, it’s not like Harry Potter was any better. And I know I’m going to get backlash from that statement, but think about it. And do not make me choose between Twilight and Harry Potter, I like them both! And I will not tolerate bashing of either on here, haha. But I digress…

50shades1

When I decided to plan my first 2015 trip to Seattle, Washington I knew I was going to have to do some shopping for the trip. Seattle has a very unique fashion running around up there and i love to learn from other people. You’ll get to see more of what I bought for the trip in later posts. But a few days before NYE I came across a Pin (Pinterest Post) showing that OPI had created a line for the 50 Shades of Grey movie. I almost died! I clicked on the link and it took me straight to Amazon where it showed it hadn’t even launched yet. I preordered like the win knowing that this would be the final clincher for my Seattle trip!

50Shades6

Well, I’ve been battling a gnarly cold lately and on today, the day that I have off, I was blessed with a knock at my door and a box handed over. It was my nail polishes! I ripped it open immediately and drooled over all the beautiful colors, and I quite like that they are mini bottles because I get to test them all better now.

50Shades3

I did a quick manicure to prep my nails and then settled down to do the painting. It was hard to pick a few to try out at first because I knew painting every nail a different color would be childish, so I selected ‘My Silk Tie,’ ‘Dark Side of the Mood,’ and ‘Romantically Involved’ to showcase first. By the time my trip comes around I shall finalize which I will wear up in Seattle.

OPI is a reputable brand and I’ve never seriously found anything wrong with them. They always seem to last long and create the most beautiful colors imaginable. The only thing I’ve discovered recently, and this is for most companies, is that the polish seems to be watered down so you must put layer, upon layer to get a decent color. But I imagine this allows the wear to build the color they way they want.

50Shades7If you haven’t caught on, I am pretty happy with this purchase and especially these colors. I can’t wait to try them all out more – and they are the best colors for Seattle I feel because they combine that pop of color (Romantically Involved) with that famous grey base that seems to permeate the fashion that comes out of the city. I even love how they’ve added some metallic (My Silk Tie) and sparkles (Shine for Me)!

Have you found the perfect nail polish for 2015? What is the craziest component you’ve boughten for a trip before? 

Leave a Reply

